Wednesday, August 4, 2010

29th annual AAJA Convention in Hollywood, CA

I was invited as a guest photographer by my comrade in arms, Corky Lee, to 29th annual Asian American Journalist Association (AAJA) Convention in Hollywood. The 2010 convention, widely viewed as one of the best in AAJA’s history, honored for the first time in its 29 years, its Founders and Asian American Pioneers in journalism as a group. The event turned out to be the greatest gathering of pioneer Asian American journalists (AAJA) in history.

Anna-Belle Udo, Suzanne Kai 

Thirty-six of 107 individuals, more than half of all living Asian American pioneers in U.S. journalism (1925-1975), were honored by the Asian American Journalists Association at the unveiling of AAJA’s Honor Roll of Asian American Pioneers in Journalism.

I was honored to work with Suzanne Joe Kai, AAJA-LA board member, and Annabelle Udo-O’Malley, AAJA events and fundraising coordinator, and the 2010 AAJA National Convention Founders and Pioneers Opening Reception Committee members Leezel Tanglao.

AAJA HONOR ROLL names and categories can be seen here: Pioneers in U.S. Journalism, Change Agents, Pioneers in Asian Community Press, and Pioneers in Asian American media.

Suzanne Kai

I was honored to photograph many of the pioneers:

Corky Lee, Anna-belle and Emil

Ben Fong-Torres and Connie Chung

No comments:

Post a Comment